Skip to main content

Welcome to Carla Schwartz, Poet: carlapoet.com

  See her Twitter feed and Instagram feed or learn about her books and events . Like Carla/s poems/photos/videos? Feel free to send a tip to give thanks.

Poems

Poems — Press the three bars next to "Search" for contact and more info

Like Carla's Poems? Thank her with a Tip!


 Here are some links to some recently published poems — 


Promo video for “Signs of Marriage”: The poem Stones depicted in video.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c3iNO7FXt2w


Promo video for “Intimacy with the Wind”: The title poem of the book depicted in video

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qGJ0Fx40WoA


"Deliverance" (first published in the Smoky Quartz Anthology, 2022, and now online at NHPR) https://www.nhpr.org/arts-culture/2023-01-19/we-asked-for-your-original-poems-about-new-beginnings-here-they-are#deliverance


The Inquisitive Eater: "Rhubarb," and "Applesauce," https://inquisitiveeater.com/2022/12/12/rhubarb-and-applesauce-by-carla-schwartz/.


Leon Literary Review: "Farm Life," a commentary on someone's wishes for end of life

https://leonliteraryreview.com/issue-14-carla-schwartz/


Triggerfish Critical Review: "The Flawed Melody of  Family," https://triggerfishcriticalreview.com/the-flawed-melody-of-family-carla-schwartz/


The Ear: "Umbilical" and "How He Leaves," Two poems about death by drug overdose

https://www.the-ear.org/schwartz-poetry


PoetsOnline: "Dream with a President of Princeton," and "August." Search link for "Carla" https://poetsonline.org/archive/arch_beach-august.html


Two Hawks Quarerly: "Brother to Brother," a poem about families and suicide

https://twohawksquarterly.com/poetry/2022/05/13/brother-to-brother-by-carla-schwartz/


Misfit Magazine: "Voodoo."  http://misfitmagazine.net/archive/No-31/schwartz.html


WCAI Poetry Sunday "Forsythia Drive By" July 28, 2019 https://www.capeandislands.org/post/poetry-sunday-carla-schwartz#stream/0

 Lunch Ticket "Anthem", May 2019, Lunch Ticket Twitter Poetry Contest Winner, https://lunchticket.org/anthem/

 The Sunlight Press "To the Posting Facebook Users," https://www.thesunlightpress.com/2018/10/02/to-the-posting-facebook-users/

Lost River Literary Magazine  "This Rope," https://issuu.com/lostriverlitmag/docs/lost_river_summer_2018_final/17 

and "Weighing a December Swim," https://issuu.com/lostriverlitmag/docs/lost_river_summer_2018_final/18

 Tales from the Forest  "Sweet Potato Harvest," and "String Theory," May, 2018. https://talesfromtheforest.net/2018/05/27/carla-schwartz-sweet-potato-harvest-string-theory/

 Paddock Review "Rings" https://paddockreview.com/2018/05/09/a-poem-by-carla-schwartz/, May 2018. This poem also appears in Intimacy with the Wind, Finishing Line Press, Oct 2017. 

 Submittable "Submittable," a runner up in the Submittable-centric poetry contest. https://submittablecentriccontest.submittable.com/gallery/cdad0def-afc4-4f3c-946c-b4eb6ff40b60/10154807/

 Zingara Review "The Road" https://zingarapoet.net/2018/05/09/the-road-by-carla-schwartz/ May, 2018

 Mojave River Review "Photographs of my Mother," and "Phone Call to a Functionary," 2018 https://issuu.com/mojaverivermedia/docs/mrr-vol4no1-spring-summer2018_final/170

 Leveler "The Wood Pile" April 23, 2018 https://www.levelerpoetry.com/the-wood-pile/

 Gyroscope Review "Self-Portrait with Perlmutter, a Father, and a Dead Mother" (search the pdf)  (you might have to open this link in an incognito window) https://www.gyroscopereview.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/08/SPRING-ISSUE-2018-PDF.pdf 

 Weatherbeaten Literary Journal "Antidote" https://weatherbeatenlit.com/summer2017/welcome-to-weatherbeaten/authors/carla-schwartz/ 2017

 Amsterdam Quarterly "Tax Reform" https://www.amsterdamquarterly.org/aq_issues/aq21-money/carla-schwartz-tax-reform/ 2018

 Varnish "Wormageddon" and "Beginnings" https://varnishjournal.com/issues/issue-2/issue-2-poetry/2-poems-by-carla-schwartz/ 2018

 First Literary Review - East  "Scars" (click this link  https://www.rulrul.4mg.com/ and search for Carla Schwartz (November 2017 issue). 

 Long Island Literary Journal  "Trimmed and Burning" and "Burning Bushes" https://www.longislandliteraryjournal.com/carla-schwartz 2017

 Triggerfish Critical Review, 2017 "On the Aqueduct" https://triggerfishcriticalreview.com/carla-schwartz-on-the-aqueduct/

 "On Seeking Forgiveness, After Simic" https://triggerfishcriticalreview.com/carla-schwartz-on-seeking-forgiveness-after-simic/  2017

 Somerville Times  Asparagus https://www.thesomervilletimes.com/archives/80269 Also in Intimacy with the Wind, 2017

 Sweet Tree Review Photoshopping the Body: https://www.sweettreereview.com/loss-of-mass-steven-pan-1 Also in Intimacy with the Wind, 2017

 The Wild Word  "At Breakfast" (Also in Intimacy with the Wind, 2017) and "Cape Cod Thanksgiving" https://thewildword.com/poetry-carla-schwartz/

 Eyedrum Periodically  "Hot and Cold" Fusion Issue: https://www.eyedrumperiodically.org/issue-12-fusion/hot-and-cold-carla-schwartz/ Also in Intimacy with the Wind, 2017

 First Literary Review - East  click this link, and search for "Our Dance" or "Carla Schwartz" ... https://www.rulrul.4mg.com/index_51.html Also in Intimacy with the Wind, 2017

 Inkstain Press Lost Hour: https://inkstainpress.weebly.com/lost-hour.html Also in Intimacy with the Wind, 2017

 Panoply Zine "Trying to Leave Mallets Bay" https://panoplyzine.com/trying-to-leave-mallets-bay-carla-schwartz/ (Also in Intimacy with the Wind, 2017)  

 "When Someone Dies" https://panoplyzine.com/when-someone-dies-carla-schwartz/

 Switched-On Gutenberg "Black Trumpets" https://switched-ongutenberg.org/black-trumpets Also in Intimacy with the Wind, 2017

 Bluefifth  "The Bereaved Mother"  https://bluefifthreview.wordpress.com/ Spring 2017 issue, or see archives.

 With Painted Words "Water Under the Bridge" June 2017 (from May 2017 Challenge) https://www.withpaintedwords.com/view_submission.php?news_id=1135

 Soul-Lit "My father's Hiking Boots", and "Dream", Summer, 2017 https://www.soul-lit.com/poems/V17/Schwartz/index.html Also in Intimacy with the Wind, 2017

 Art on the Trails Five Ekphrastic poems by Carla Schwartz (search for my name) 2017 https://artonthetrails.com/2017/10/20/the-poetry-of-art-on-the-trails-2017/

 SHARKPACK Annual "Nick Flynn Reads My Feelings" https://sprannual.com/iv/teeth/schwartz-nick.html Also in Intimacy with the Wind, 2017

 

_________________________________________________________________________________

All poems © Carla Schwartz:



 

___________________________________________________________
Show Me Your Toolkit (audio, with a great band, the White Owls)*

______________________________________________________

Carla's poems in the Boston Poetry Magazine


Comments

Contact Carla

Name

Email *

Message *

Popular posts from this blog

Welcome to Carla Schwartz, Poet: carlapoet.com

  See her Twitter feed and Instagram feed or learn about her books and events . Like Carla/s poems/photos/videos? Feel free to send a tip to give thanks.

CB99videos Carla's Twitter Feed